Parliamentary committee formed to monitor coronavirus and its preventive measures

ISLAMABAD: A parliamentary committee consisting of officials of federal government, as well as National Assembly members, has been set up to monitor the ongoing COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic, an NA spokesperson said Thursday.

According to the spokesperson, the committee would inspect, monitor, and supervise everything related to coronavirus, as well as its negative impact on the economy of Pakistan.

It would further look at the implementation of the national action plan for the COVID-19 and would review recommendations to improve the execution, the spokesperson added.

The committee would also set up a sub-committee so that it would compile TORs, and submit its report in both the upper and lower houses of the Parliament.

Members of the committee include Planning Minister Asad Umar, Defense Minister Pervez Khattak, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Special Assistant to PM on Health Dr Zafar Mirza and Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid, Prime Minister’s Finance Adviser Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh.

It would also include Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Azam Khan Swati, Khawaja Asif, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Asad Mahmood, Shibli Faraz, Mushahidullah Khan, Muhammad Ali Saif, Mushahidullah Khan, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Sherry Rehman, Usman Khan Kakar, Siraj-ul-Haq, Sitara Ayaz, Dr Jahanzeb Jamaluddin, Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah, and Aurangzeb Khan.

Khalid Hussain Magsi, Akhtar Mengal, Ghous Bux Khan Mahar, Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti, and Ameer Haider Khan Hoti would represent the BAP, BNP-M, GDA, JWP, and the ANP, respectively.

Related Articles