Sports News

Multan Sultan won the match against Lahore Qalandars by seven wickets

KARACHI: Multan Sultans won the match by seven wickets against Lahore Qalandars in the twenty-ninth match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) chasing the total of 141 on National Cricket Stadium Karachi.

Lahore Qalandars is having the hitter Fakhar Zaman, Sohail Akhtar, Salman Butt, Agha Salman Corey Anderson, Brendan Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Anton Devcich, Gauhar Ali, Hardus Viljoen, Yasir Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Rahat Ali, Hassan Khan, David Wiese, Sandeep Lamichhane.

While in Multan Sultans’ squad there is the captain Shoaib Malik, Shan Masood, TJ Moores, Laurie Evans, Andre Russell, Shahid Khan Afridi, Hammad Azam, Chris Green, Mohammad Ilyas, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, James Charles, Ali Shafiq, James Vince, Daniel Christian, Shakeel Ansar, Nouman Ali, Umar Siddiq.

Qalandars had set the target of 141 runs because of successful partnership of Shan Masood and James Vince in the initial stage of the innings.

On the fielding end, Lahore could not perform well either as the fielders were unable to defend the boundaries or the sixers either.

Lahore Qalandars delivered an overwhelming performance in the first innings as Multan Sultans managed to knock down eight wickets in utilising all the overs limiting their run total to a mere 140.

David Wiese performed outstandingly as he hit frequent boundaries before getting knocked out by Mohammad Abbas.

Standing captain Fakhar Zaman scored half a century putting up a good game in the powerplay but despite that could not sustain his pace as he was bowled out by Shahid Afridi in the twelfth over.

The middle order of Qalandars delivered an bland performance and struggled to exert pressure down to the fielders.

Both Multan and Lahore are at the bottom of the points table with six and four points, respectively and have already failed to qualify for the play-offs.

Related Articles